Books are food for my soul! Pull up a beach chair and stick your toes in the sand as the Jersey surf rolls in and out, now open your book and let your imagination take you away.

Friday, January 19, 2018

Six Tinder Weeks by Bena Roberts (VBT: Book Review)

In association with Chick Lit Plus Blog Tours, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book tour event for Six Tinder Weeks by author Bena Roberts!








Book Review



Six Tinder Weeks by Bena Roberts
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: December 9, 2017
Format: Paperback - 177 pages
               Kindle - 1786 KB
ISBN: 978-1973494232
ASIN: B0782MDCFT
Genre: Chick Lit / Romantic Comedy / Women's Fiction


Buy The Book:
Amazon - US (Buy for $.99 or Free on Kindle Unlimited)



Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review and participation in a virtual book tour event hosted by Chick Lit Plus Blog Tours.



Book Description:

Forty-something scientist Helen leaves her husband after twenty uninspired years of marriage. Plagued with making the wrong decisions she looks towards holistic therapy and the universe to guide her choices. She meets hairdresser Alex and takes his advice to download the dating app SPRK.

Helen embarks on a voyage of self-discovery, paganism, hedonism, and desire. What could go wrong? Well for one secret agent CJ is convinced that Helen is part of a notorious Romanian smuggling gang.

Six Tinder Weeks is not the usual romantic novel; it is realistic fiction full of twists, turns that will make you laugh out loud. If you like something different, then you will enjoy this Pandora's box of love, action and the unexpected.


My Book Review:

If you are looking for a sassy romantic comedy to while away a cold winter afternoon, then look no further, Six Tinder Weeks by author Bena Roberts is just what you need!

In Six Tinder Weeks, the reader is transported to Frankfurt, Germany where they meet forty-year-old Helen, who has decided to leave her husband and their twenty miserable years of marriage. Helen takes the reader along for the ride as she goes on a journey of self-discovery filled with humor and quirky trials and errors that will keep the reader in stitches. From changing her hairstyle to following her hair stylist's suggestion to join the online dating site SPKR filled with hilarious hookups, to getting a holistic treatment, Helen is a hot mess but along the way she learns a lot about herself and discovers what she really wants.

I really enjoyed reading this fun story, it's relatable and you can't help but get what Helen is going through in her life. The author does a great job of providing the reader with richly vivid descriptions of various European cities (Frankfurt, Barcelona, and Prague) while inserting a lot of quirky humor into the trials and tribulations that Helen endures during a six-week timeframe of finding herself. Add in the mix a host of characters (younger sister Portia, ex-husband Edward, hairstylist Alex, secret agent and SPKR member CJ Ramsey, and the other crazy SPKR dudes), and you have a truly fun romantic comedy that will have you laughing out loud and leave a smile on your face ... well except for the cliffhanger ending that involves CJ and leaves you wondering if a sequel is in the works.

I would be remiss if I didn't applaud the author for weaving a realistic tale that anyone can relate to when it comes to the ups and downs of life and relationships. From middle age changes of hairstyles, to attempting to navigate the slippery slope of online dating sites, to figuring out who you are and what you want out of life and relationships, author Bena Roberts knocks this story out of the park!


RATING: 4 STARS 






About The Author




Bena is an expat British woman living with her family in Germany. She was a journalist, blogger, and analyst as well as CEO of quite a few geeky companies. She is a bookworm, gym bunny and partial to dry Italian red wine.

Bena's passion for writing began as a child in the cozy corner of her parent's bookshop in London. She grew up reading Sidney Sheldon, Judy Blume, and Marian Keyes. Six Tinder Weeks is her debut novel and is realistic fiction that will appeal to women, mums and especially those just divorced.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Goodreads



Virtual Book Tour



Tour Schedule:

January 15 – Chick Lit Plus - Review
January 16 – Chick Lit Goddess – Novel Spotlight
January 17 – Book Lover in Florida – Review
January 18 – Beauty Books and Cats With Brooke – Review
January 18 – Tranquil Reader – Review
January 19 – Rainy Day Reviews – Review
January 19 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Review









Saturday, January 6, 2018

Cardinal Cabin by Joanne DeMaio (Book Review)




Cardinal Cabin by Joanne DeMaio
Publisher: Independent Self Publishing
Publication Date: PB - September 10, 2017 / eBook - September 12, 2017
Format: Paperback - 268 pages
               Kindle - 2035 KB
               Nook - 1 MB
ISBN: 978-1548161712
ASIN: B074DZSDFS
BNID: 2940158587443
Genre: Holiday Romance / Women's Fiction



Buy The Book:


Book Description:

From New York Times bestselling author Joanne DeMaio comes a heartwarming novel as merry and bright as a red-feathered cardinal taking flight.

Frank Lombardo's never been spontaneous. The closest he's come was accepting a side job chopping firewood for a lakeside community of rustic cabins. But with another lonely holiday season imminent, Frank's sister urges him to be spontaneous because, seriously, who does he ever expect to meet out in the woods?

With a suitcase in hand and a bit of reluctance, too, Penny Hart arrives at Cardinal Cabin on Snowflake Lake. It's only for a brief stay, though nobody knows where she is. Not her boss, not her friends...

Only Frank Lombardo. As the two unexpectedly meet at Addison's hidden hideaway, a spontaneous kiss sets everything amiss. But can the magic of this quaint New England town keep these snowy sweethearts together?

Cardinal Cabin is an enchanting tale about finding love where you least expect it. So come on inside. A cozy fire crackles, lights twinkle on the evergreen tree, snowflakes tap at the windowpanes, and little redbirds bring cheer this time of year.



Book Excerpt:

Click on the link to read an excerpt from Cardinal Cabinhttp://a.co/3znhp9R



My Book Review:

In Cardinal Cabin, author Joanne DeMaio transports the reader to the tranquil small New England town of Addison, Connecticut for a heartwarming Christmas tale of family, friendship, and finding unexpected love.

Penny Hart is a travel agent at Suitcase Escapes in Addison. She is a reluctant travel agent who doesn't like to leave the comfort of her home. But when her boss Ross recruits her for a holiday travel mystery promotion called "Where in New England is Penny?" Penny finds herself renting a bird-themed cabin (Cardinal Cabin), providing photo clues of her mystery location for two weeks leading up to Christmas at Snowflake Lake, a secluded lakeside community that is Addison's well-kept and treasured secret.

Frank Lombardo and his sister Gina own Addison Boathouse, which serves a dual purpose of boat storage on the lower level and a banquet hall on the upper level that has become the town's premier waterfront venue. Between the duties at the boathouse and a side job as a handyman at the lakeside cabin community of Snowflake Lake, Frank has no time for romance. But Gina wants her brother to loosen up, be spontaneous, and take a chance at finding love.

A walk in the snow-covered woods of Snowflake Lake provides an unexpected meeting between Penny and Frank that ends in a spontaneous kiss. Who would guess that this secluded lakeside community would help their relationship blossom into something more as a secretive travel promotion, the magic of cardinals and the mystique of little cardinal themed cabin by the lake, and Addison's holiday spirit gives them an unexpected chance at finding love?

Cardinal Cabin is a wonderful Christmas story that will tug at the heartstrings and fill the reader with seasonal joy. Author Joanne DeMaio weaves a spellbinding tale set in the quaint New England town of Addison Cove, Connecticut, that captivates the reader's attention with a heartwarming romance. This delightful holiday tale has a rich description of the breathtaking small town setting, holiday tradition, lovely cardinals, Christmas decorations, and delicate swirls of snowflakes. Penny and Frank's find an unexpected chance at love as their story unfolds in a magical way that will make the reader believe in the power of love and friendship, and the joy of the holiday season.

There are not enough words that I can express about the simplicity and beauty in which author Joanne DeMaio weaves her wonderful heartwarming and multi-layered stories that are filled with a mixture of love, friendship, family, and life's unexpected special moments, it is simply breathtaking. As the readers follow Penny and Frank's story, they will discover the delightful secluded lakeside hideaway cardinal cabin, it is simply magical!

I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much this wonderful story spoke to my heart, especially because of my love of cardinals. When I saw that the author wrote a holiday novel with a cardinal theme, I knew it would become my favorite story, and I wasn't disappointed. The richly vivid description of the town of Addison and the hidden hideaway beauty of the bird-themed cabin lakeside community of Snowflake Lake is phenomenal, you'll yearn to visit the area and watch the lovely cardinals flit among the snow-capped tree branches. Ms. DeMaio has a special gift for transporting the readers into every story that she weaves while leaving them yearning for more!

Cardinal Cabin is an enchanting holiday story full of warmth and comfort that will remind the reader of the magic, joy, cheer, and spirit of Christmas. It is a lovely story that will resonate with the reader for a very long time.


RATING: 5 STARS 




About The Author



Joanne DeMaio is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of contemporary fiction. She enjoys writing about friendship, family, love, and choices while setting her stories in New England towns or by the sea. Currently at work on her next book, Joanne lives with her family in Connecticut.

Joanne's novels include the New York Times Bestseller Blue Jeans and Coffee Beans; Whole Latte Life, a Kirkus Reviews Critics' Pick; Snowflakes and Coffee Cakes, a USA Today Bestseller; True Blend; The Denim Blue Sea; and Snow Deer and Cocoa Cheer. Her latest summer books are Beach Blues, Beach Breeze, and The Beach Inn. Her latest wintry novel is Cardinal Cabin.

For a complete list of books and to learn more about the author, visit Joannedemaio.com. She also enjoys hearing from readers on her Facebook Page.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest
Goodreads










Friday, January 5, 2018

Hothouse Flower by Taylor Dean (Virtual Book Blast Event / Contest Giveaway)

In association with I Am A Reader, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book blast event for Hothouse Flower by Author Taylor Dean!








About The Book




Hothouse Flower by Taylor Dean 
Book 3: Sound of Silence Series
Publisher: Taylor Dean Books
Publication Date: January 1, 2018
Format: Paperback - 236 pages
               Kindle - 949 KB
ISBN: 978-1548351229
ASIN: B078KPY7WH
Genre: Contemporary Romance


Buy The Book: 
Amazon
Goodreads





Buy The Series:
Book 1: Stone Silence
Book 2: Jailbird
Book 3: Hothouse Flower (Pub Date: January 1, 2018)
Amazon









Book Description:

I loved Jace Faraday with all my heart.

I loved everything about him, from his huge smile to his fabulous laugh. Another man never caught my eye. It was always Jace and Shay, together forever.

Until it wasn’t.

He devastated me, he ruined me. I’ve never gotten over it.

But, I’m a survivor. I’m not a precious flower that can only thrive if kept safe from the perils of the outside world.

Except now Jace has returned home. He’s just across the street from me, so close I swear I can actually feel his presence.

I can’t avoid him forever. At some point I have to face him. And when I do, I know sparks will fly.

To redeem himself for his past actions, I need major remorse. I need a profuse apology and maybe even a little begging for forgiveness. I won’t settle for anything less.

However, when the truth behind our break-up is revealed, I’m stunned. It leaves me reeling—and yearning for the six years that have been lost to us.

The thing is, once the truth is known, there’s nothing to keep us apart.


Absolutely nothing.


Dear Reader: This book deals with a sensitive issue.



The Sound of Silence Series is a three book series:

Book One: Stone Silence, Spencer’s Story 
Book Two: Jailbird, Mia’s Story 
Book Three: Hothouse Flower, Shay’s Story

Each book has a happy ending and there are no cliffhangers. 
They are not standalone and should be read in order.






Book Excerpt:


Read an excerpt from HOTHOUSE FLOWER:

Excerpt #1:

I'LL BE RIGHT down to help with dinner, Mom,” I holler. It will just be a few minutes because I’m busy staring out the window at the man I’ve loved nearly all my life.

He’s home. He’s actually home—just across the street from me, only yards away. I swear I can physically feel his presence and it’s killing me.

Jace Faraday. The love of my youth.

He just arrived at his mother’s house across the street. It’s early evening and I’m watching from my upstairs bedroom window just like I used to do as a teenager. All those old feelings I had for him are rushing over me just as strong as ever. Except now I’m a twenty-six year old woman and, sadly, I feel as though I’m too old to feel giddy over a man.

He is the one man in my life that I have ever truly loved. I loved everything about him from his huge smile to his soft voice to his fabulous laugh. I loved his brawny physique, yet the fact that he had such a gentle touch.

I loved his sense of humor the most of all. When we first started to say I love you to each other, they were serious moments and I knew he meant it as much as I did. As time went by, I would whisper I love you to him and he’d respond in a silly voice, “And I’ve grown fond of you.” It reduced me to a writhing mass of giggles every time.

I was young when I first met him. His family moved in across the street when I was in kindergarten. By the time I was in fifth grade, I was sure he was the man I would marry. I was just a little girl with stars in her eyes, someone who was in love with love. By then Jace was in the eighth grade and seemed larger than life to me.

That feeling of hero worship I felt as a little girl has never left me.

Excerpt #2:

“I apologize if that embarrassed you. That’s what creepy ex-boyfriends are for though. If you look it up in the dictionary, you’ll find that I’m right.”

“That’s the exact definition?” I ask.

“In a nutshell. I believe it reads: A hideous creature made to embarrass and humiliate his former girlfriend during every single moment of her life. Warning: They should all be hunted down and killed.”

A half smile escapes. “That’s a bit harsh, don’t you think?”

“Maybe. I promise to try my best to not stand outside of your window in the middle of the night with a boom box over my head.”

This time he makes me laugh aloud. “Just out of curiosity, what would the song be?”

“Oh, you know, a rousing rendition of George Michael belting out Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go. After all, I’d have to wake you up before getting all romantic with my song choice.”

“So . . . what would the romantic song be?” I have to know.

“Don’t make me say it.”

“You brought it up. Don’t leave me hanging.”

“It would have to be . . . I Think I Love You by The Partridge Family. It’s an oldie, but a goodie. Not many know it, but it’s a gem of a song. It says everything that’s in my heart.”

It’s his ability to say silly things with a deadpan voice that makes him so funny. To me, at least. No one else ever laughs at his jokes quite like I do. I slap his arm playfully and Brit burrows deeper into his shoulder. “I’d go back to bed.”

“I’d resort to drastic measures then.”

“What drastic measures?”

“I’d have to pull out the Barry Manilow. He’s only to be used in rare moments and with extreme caution.”




About The Author





Taylor Dean lives in Texas and is the mother of four grown children. Upon finding herself with an empty nest, she began to write the stories that were always wandering around in her head, quickly finding she had a passion for writing, specifically romance. Whether it’s paranormal, contemporary, or suspense—you’ll find all sub-genres of clean romance in her line-up.






Contest Giveaway




Blast Giveaway Details: $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 1/21/18 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Virtual Book Blast Event





Sunday, December 31, 2017

Jersey Girl Book Reviews: Top Ten Books Read In 2017

2017 turned out to be a challenging year when it came to reading, reviewing and hosting virtual book tour events for Jersey Girl Book Reviews. Unexpected family events and personal health issues derailed my reading goals in the second half of 2017.

From NY Times Bestselling Authors to Indie Authors, I have read 53 wonderful books, and trying to narrow it down to my Top 10 favorites has not been easy. While I have enjoyed every book, here is the Top 10 Books I Read in 2017 that simply moved me the most.







1) Ashes by Steven Manchester
                                                       
                                                        


2) The Thursday Night Club and Other Stories of Christmas Spirit by Steven Manchester



3) Beach Breeze by Joanne DeMaio  
                                                           
                                                             



4) The Beach Inn by Joanne DeMaio                           
                                                         
                                                                



5) Wish Me Home by Kay Bratt
                                                           
                                                                    



6) The Sex Bucket List by Prescott Lane                                  
                                                        
                                                                
                                                           
                                                              

7) President's Day by Seth Margolis



                                                          
                                                                            
                                                     
8) Crossing The Street by Molly D. Campbell
                                                         
                                                                         



9)  The Outsider by Anthony Franze
                                                     
                                                                      

                                                       


10) Cards From Khloe's Flower Shop by Isabella Louise Anderson
                                                          
                                                                     



                                                          
                                                                

And there you have it, my Top 10 Books that I read in 2017! 


Check out my complete 2017 books read on Goodreads: 



Stayed tuned to see what fabulous books are in store for 2018 on Jersey Girl Book Reviews! 







The Thursday Night Club and Other Stories of Christmas Spirit by Steven Manchester (Book Review)




The Thursday Night Club and Other Stories of Christmas Spirit by Steven Manchester
Publisher: Fiction Studio Books
Publication Date: PB - October 25, 2017 / eBook - November 1, 2017
Format: Paperback - 190 pages
               Kindle - 5154 KB
               Nook - 6 MB
ISBN: 978-1945839160
ASIN: B075W59MLY
BNID: 978-1945839146
Genre: Christmas Novella Collection



Buy The Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Goodreads


Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review.


Book Description:

A joyous and deeply emotional collection of three unforgettable Christmas novellas.

With a series of #1 bestsellers like Twelve Months, The Rockin’ Chair and Pressed Pennies, Steven Manchester has established himself as one of the premier voices of moving and heartfelt fiction. Now, he collects his three unforgettable Christmas novellas in one volume.

The Thursday Night Club: Five college friends, three men and two women, have been getting together every Thursday night to share humble meals and an abundance of laughter. But when tragedy takes one of them, leaving the others to question the fairness of life, the Thursday Night Club decides to embark on a contest in the memory of the generous spirit of their fallen brother. The objective of the contest is simple: whoever performs the kindest deed by Christmas night wins the pot – four quarters. And there are only two conditions: the benevolent deed must be anonymous, and it cannot cost a single penny to pull off. As the four friends undertake the contest, the healing begins and they become inspired beyond their expectations. There might be a winner in this competition, but it is very clear there will be no losers.

A Christmas Wish: Steph is on a search for truth in her heart as she faces the prospect of real love for the first time. Brian is out to enjoy his favorite season in a way that doctors never thought he could. And at the center of it all is their grandmother, affectionately known as Mama, a woman of remarkable commitment and charity who knows something very important about making Christmas wishes come true.

The Tin-Foil Manger: Published in this volume for the first time, this is the story of Nancy, an elderly woman with little to live for and Jeanne, the caretaker who wants to believe that Nancy has more to live for. Together, they embark on a journey to the past – a past of modest Christmases, tin-foil mangers, and abundant love – to rediscover the time when Nancy felt truly alive. Nancy’s memories and how they touch Jeanne, will turn this Christmas into one for the ages.


Rich with emotion and profound with meaning, these three stories of Christmas spirit that will strike a chord in your heart any time of year and make you look at the holiday season in new ways.



My Book Review:

Every once in a while an author comes along who writes novels that are so powerfully compelling, poignant, and thought provoking, that they pull at the heartstrings and stir the soul. For me, that author is Steven Manchester and his latest Christmas Novella Collection, The Thursday Night Club and Other Stories of Christmas Spirit.

The Thursday Night Club and Other Stories of Christmas Spirit is a wonderful holiday novella collection that features three heartwarming stories revolving around the Christmas Spirit theme. 

In The Thursday Night Club, after the tragic death of Jesse, one of the members of the Thursday Night Club, the remaining four college friends Izzy, Ava, Randy, and Kevin decide to honor Jesse's memory by paying it forward and making a positive difference in the world. 

In A Christmas Wish, Grandma Angela "Mama" encourages her granddaughter Steph to search within herself for the truth in her life, to have faith, make a Christmas wish, and believe that it will come true. 

In The Tin-Foil Manger, elderly nursing home resident Nancy Guillmette has lost her desire to live due to the progression of Alzheimer's disease, and is slowly wilting away. Nurse Jeanne encourages Nancy to make the most of every day she's given on earth, and together they embark on a walk down memory lane as Nancy revisits her beloved childhood memories when Christmas traditions meant so much to her. 

In each of the novellas, the reader will be easily captivated and drawn into these sentimental and touching stories. You can't help but get swept away and experience the full gamut of emotions as each heartwarming story stirs your soul and celebrates the true meaning of the Christmas Spirit.

While I enjoyed reading all three stories, I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much The Tin-Foil Manger resonated with me. As a retired NJ licensed nursing home administrator, I was instantly drawn into this beautifully written and thoughtful story dealing with Alzheimer's disease. Over the years I have witnessed many residents, families, and staff deal with this traumatic disease, and author Steven Manchester does a wonderful job of providing the reader with an inspirational story that will simply tug at your heartstrings.

If you are looking for a wonderful collection of Christmas novellas that will get you in the holiday spirit, then look no further, The Thursday Night Club and Other Stories of Christmas Spirit is the collection for you!


RATING: 5 STARS 
                                      





About The Author




Steven Manchester is the author of the #1 bestsellers, Twelve Months and The Rockin' Chair. He is also the author of the award-winning novel, Goodnight, Brian, as well as the critically-acclaimed novel, Pressed Pennies, A Christmas Wish (Kindle Exclusive), Wilbur Avenue (novelette), Just in Time (novelette), The Thursday Night Club (novella), and Gooseberry Island. His work has appeared on NBC's Today Show, CBS's The Early Show, CNN's American Morning and BET's Nightly News. Three of Steven's short stories were selected "101 Best" for Chicken Soup for the Soul series.

When not spending time with his beautiful wife, Paula, or their four children, this Massachusetts author is promoting his works or writing.


Author Website
Amazon Author Page
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads





Thursday, December 7, 2017

Jailbird by Taylor Dean (Virtual Book Blast Event / Contest Giveaway)

In association with I Am A Reader, Jersey Girl Book Reviews is pleased to host the virtual book blast event for Jailbird by Author Taylor Dean!








About The Book




Jailbird by Taylor Dean 
Book 2: Sound of Silence Series
Publisher: Taylor Dean Books
Publication Date: December 1, 2017
Format: Paperback - 214 pages
               Kindle - 1083 KB
ISBN: 978-1548351175
ASIN: B077NKR5ZF
Genre: Contemporary Romance


Buy The Book: 
Amazon
Goodreads





Buy The Series:
Book 1: Stone Silence
Book 2: Jailbird
Book 3: Hothouse Flower (Pub Date: January 1, 2018)
Amazon









Book Description:


My hometown decided to rename me Jailbird.

Every day I silently scream out, “My name is Mia Faraday!” My time in jail does not define me. I am so much more than one heated mistake.

And yet, my slip-up weighs on me. There’s so much more to the story than anyone realizes. I must face Stony, my ex, and confess everything.

I don’t want to. I’d rather have five teeth pulled. While I’m awake. Without anesthesia.

But this is something I have to do, something I need to do. Not just for Stony. I need to do it for me. Especially for me. I can’t move forward with my life until I gain closure from the past.

When I meet Grayson Elliott, I am easily pulled into his orbit and it’s exactly where I’d love to stay. He makes me laugh and not take life so seriously. He makes me want to live again.

But I don’t love me right now, and that healing needs to come first. I’m not relationship-ready or marriage material. My mind is focused on redemption. I want it. I need it.

Besides, when Grayson hears about my colorful past, I’m sure he’ll be gone before I have time to utter the word goodbye.


After all, who could ever love a jailbird?



The Sound of Silence Series is a three book series:

Book One: Stone Silence, Spencer’s Story 
Book Two: Jailbird, Mia’s Story 
Book Three: Hothouse Flower, Shay’s Story

Each book has a happy ending and there are no cliffhangers. 
They are not standalones and should be read in order.

Hate waiting for the next book in a series?
You won't have to wait long!

Hothouse Flower, Book Three will be released on January 1st, 2018






Book Excerpt:
Stony and Spencer’s Place.

Ugh. It’s magical inside the fenced-in property, as if I just walked into a secret garden. Stony always said he was going to build himself an oasis in the middle of the prairie land, and he did it. I didn’t expect it to be quite this beautiful. Green grass covers small rolling hills. Sidewalks meander the property. Flower beds bloom madly with all the colors of the rainbow. It’s almost like being inside of a Thomas Kinkade painting.

I want to run. I want to turn around and erase this serene picture from my mind. I’m not sure I want to witness Stony’s happily-ever-after. The consolation is that now I know I didn’t ruin his life. I should feel grateful for that knowledge. I kind of do and I kind of don’t. My emotions are a tangled mess when it comes to Stony. I’ve had two years in jail and a little over a year in Galveston to think about this moment, to anticipate exactly what I want to say to him. Now that it’s upon me, I can feel my mind going blank.

But I’m doing it anyway.

I march forward with determination in every step and I push on the doorbell before I can change my mind. I hear a Windsor chime echo through the house in a majestic sort of way. A little more cringing goes on inside of me at the perfection of it all.

The seconds before the door is answered seem interminable. I’m a hot mess.

Lock me in a tank with hungry—no—starving sharks. Put me in a lion’s den and let them have me for dinner. Make me appear on that dumb TV show, Naked and Afraid.

Anything but this. I don’t want to face Stony. I don’t, I don’t.


















About The Author





Taylor Dean lives in Texas and is the mother of four grown children. Upon finding herself with an empty nest, she began to write the stories that were always wandering around in her head, quickly finding she had a passion for writing, specifically romance. Whether it’s paranormal, contemporary, or suspense—you’ll find all sub-genres of clean romance in her line-up.






Contest Giveaway

amazon or paypal


$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway 
 Ends 12/22/17 

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. 

VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway





Virtual Book Blast Event